A Journey of Prayer

Tremendous things happen when ink and paper meet: ideas are created, emotions are laid bare, legacies are recorded, agreements are sealed, stories are born, and life – as we know it – is transformed.

Tremendous things happen inside and around us every day and, often times, go unnoticed.

Recently I have felt distant, disconnected and faithless in my relationship with God. It is a hard confession to make as a missionary, but it is a real one. However, God has not been absent in my life despite my feelings. Tremendous truth is revealed in the earnest prayers recorded within my journals. It is amazing to look back on things that I have said -things God has done – that I have completely forgotten in the wake of my hurt, disappointment and frustration with Him. Perhaps I am the only reader who will benefit from these next few, raw posts on my blog. But my prayer is that others may be blessed to see the slow, painstaking process of transformation by Jesus Christ and God’s steadfast love through it all.

7/30/2013

Father god, thank you for your promises. Thank you for helping me in my hour of need and showing me your truth through the scriptures. I am so grateful for Your presence, for Your strength and that I cannot overwhelm you with anything! God I am so aware of my need for You. Thank You for both showing me this need and meeting it as well.

“For all the promises of God find their Yes in [Jesus]. That is why it is through him that we utter our Amen to God for his glory.  And it is God who establishes us with you in Christ, and has anointed us, and who has also put his seal on us and given us his Spirit in our hearts as a guarantee.” – 2 Cor. 1;20-22

Lord, may I look to Jesus for your fulfilling of Your word and for my own fulfillment in life. I ask you to continue to grip my heart with your radical love and open my eyes so that I can receive more from You. During this chaotic transition time, Father, I ask that You would demonstrate clearly Your consistent nature and that I would see your faithfulness tangibly in my life. I know You are more powerful and capable than anything beyond my imagination and I trust that You will act upon that aspect of Your being.

8/23/2013

Dwelling on Isaiah 40 again today. I love this passage so much, Lord. It is humbling and mind-blowing. You are so mighty, so powerful, so much bigger than my tiny human mind can comprehend. Thank you for being small enough in Your vast power to understand me, see my struggles, my concerns and my heart. Thank you for loving me so much that You would extend Yourself again and again in so many ways. I am so grateful and long to let my strength be in You and You alone. I pray that i would place all of my hope in You, Lord. 

8/27/2013

God thank you for showing me that You have not forgotten me and that You are moving even when it doesn’t seem like it.

“And Jesus said to him, ‘If you can? All things are possible for one who believes.’ Immediately the father of the child cried out and said, ‘I believe; help my unbelief!'” – Mark 9:23-24

This entry was published on March 26, 2014 at 12:06 am. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

