Equipped for battle

“The King and His Son will see you now.”

I walked into the throne room, tired and beaten from my work. My armor felt heavier than ever before as I managed the last few steps toward the King before collapsing before Him.

“My daughter.”

His deep, rich voice warmed my weary bones and I rose to find His kind eyes welcoming me. I reverently acknowledged Him and the Prince, who sat at His right hand.

“My Lord.”

“We know why you are here, my child. You think that we have not provided you with the best equipment for battle?”

“Yes, my Lord. I have read about the great warriors Paul, Peter and John and the great power they received from You to accomplish their work. They saw great things happen that I could only dream of and it has made me question what You have provided for me. I would like to request, my Lord, if I might have a sharper sword and maybe a bigger shield? Surely these men were better equipped than I – and I long to have the same power as them.”

The King held my gaze as I finished my plea. I looked to His Son who simply smiled at me as if I were the most incredible person He had ever seen. It practically made my heart stop. Confused, I looked back at the King, who had not wavered in His countenance.

“My daughter, it grieves me to hear this. You think we would send you out ill-equipped, without giving you our very best?”

I looked at my feet, feeling very small in The King’s presence.

“Forgive me, my Lord, I did not mean to offend Your character.”

The King stepped off of His throne to approach me. I remained still out of reverence of His mighty power. He stretched out His hand and with it He lifted my face toward His own. His eyes were still warm and kind – not angry as I had feared. He smiled.

“My daughter, I am not angry with you. Remember, you need not fear in my presence – there is no room for it here.”

He then placed both hands on my shoulders and looked me square in the eyes.

“I know you have a difficult time believing this, but this armor that I have equipped you with -it is more than enough for you to accomplish what I have set before you. And you have access to the exact same power that Paul, Peter and John had.”

He turned to look back at His Son, who then rose to join us. Turning back to me the King laughed and said,

“In fact, you have the same power that my very Son had when I sent Him out.”

Humbled and speechless I looked back down at my armor. Touching the helm of my sword and running my fingers across the detail engraved in my shield, I was overcome with a new-found wonder for the weapons I had grown so accustomed to bearing. Realizing the King’s son was now at my side, I looked up to find compassion and deep understanding in His eyes.

“I was there once. I remember the trials, the temptation and persecution. I understand.”

He placed a hand on my shoulder and I saw the scars. I shut my eyes tightly, holding back tears at the memory of His excruciating death this Prince went through – just for me. And before I could say another word I was in enveloped in the greatest embrace. The King and the Prince had wrapped their arms around me and without a word, I believed that their love for me is real.

I smiled, deep within my soul, realizing yet again just how good I have it. The King of the universe and His Son are on my side, giving me the very best they have to offer and fully believing they are working through me with the greatest power the world has ever known.

For the word of God is living and active, sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing to the division of soul and of spirit, of joints and of marrow, and discerning the thoughts and intentions of the heart … Since then we have a great high priest who has passed through the heavens, Jesus, the Son of God, let us hold fast our confession.  For we do not have a high priest who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses, but one who in every respect has been tempted as we are, yet without sin. Let us then with confidence draw near to the throne of grace, that we may receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need. (Hebrews 4:12, 14-16)

But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit has come upon you, and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the end of the earth. (Acts 1:8)

The Spirit of God, who raised Jesus from the dead, lives in you. And just as God raised Christ Jesus from the dead, he will give life to your mortal bodies by this same Spirit living within you. (Romans 8:11)

I pray that your hearts will be flooded with light so that you can understand the confident hope he has given to those he called—his holy people who are his rich and glorious inheritance. I also pray that you will understand the incredible greatness of God’s power for us who believe him. This is the same mighty power that raised Christ from the dead and seated him in the place of honor at God’s right hand in the heavenly realms. (Ephesians 1:18-20)

This entry was published on October 23, 2013 at 1:10 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Equipped for battle

Leave a Reply

