Alabaster jars and sloppy wet kisses

Shattered. Broken. Smashed.

A million and one pieces.

An alabaster jar, a splintered soul. Expensive perfume spilled out in adoration, invaluable life released in gratitude.

Sloppy wet kisses and tear-stained feet. Beautiful feet . . . The feet of the One who saved me.

“And behold, a woman of the city, who was a sinner, when she learned that [Jesus] was reclining at table in the Pharisee’s house, brought an alabaster flask of ointment, and standing behind him at his feet, weeping, she began to wet his feet with her tears and wiped them with the hair of her head and kissed his feet and anointed them with the ointment. “

These days I wonder how to worship Jesus when I have come undone, when I feel as though I am in a million and one pieces. How can I come to Him and present myself incomplete?

Reading in Luke 7 I realize that this is exactly how Jesus wants me to come to Him. Like the harlot who shamelessly and with reckless abandon worshiped at the feet of her Savior, I, too, can come to Jesus as a hot mess.

And He loves it.

This entry was published on October 6, 2013 at 10:53 am and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

