The Stuff of Fairytales

As I was falling asleep last night, I couldn’t help but dream myself into the wonderful worlds of Neverland, Wonderland and the Enchanted Forest.

fairy tales

It may or may not have something to do with my mild obsession with Once, a fantastic T.V. series where fictitious fairy tale characters come together in a serendipitous plot. This relatively new series cleverly joins childhood favorites into one bigger story, which makes my inner child gleefully excited.

I love the fantastic worlds created in these fairtales.

I crave the splendid adventures taken therein.

I envy the seemingly perfect relationships between the alleged “good” characters.

And it got me to thinking . . . Why?

What is it within my being that desires these things? What is it about these realms I enjoy that I cannot disover here on earth? Why do I long for magical endeavors that destroy evil and ultimately see good prevail? Why do long for a fairytale ending with a handsome hero as my lifelong companion?

What within my being looks at this world and says, “There must be more than this?”

What inside of me evaluates our lives and says, “I am still left wanting more?”

What about my heart, mind and soul desires to escape into fantastic worlds with larger-than-life characters and alternate realities?

I believe that this is the cry of every human heart: That we desperately long for something more than what we can see in front of us. That we long to see good prevail and evil demolished underfoot. That we know, deep within our core, there is a vast unknown before us wherein people are larger-than-life characters with unimaginable quests, exciting adventures and fairytale endings. I believe our souls asses this world and all it has to offer us and realize there is more.

Why?

I have my thoughts. And I would love to hear yours.

So what do you think? Why do we love the fictitious creations of our own human minds? What perpetuates us to delight in reading, watching and participating in these alternate universes?

I am eager to see what you think.

This entry was published on October 1, 2013 at 9:01 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

