Is Christ enough for me?

“Christ is enough for me… Everything I need is in You. You’re everything I need”

“All of You is more than enough for all of me, for every thirst and every need. You satisfy me with your love and all I have in You is more than enough.”

These two quotes come from popular Christian songs; the former a more recent Hillsong release and the latter a popular cover by a bazillion artists for what feels like the past ten years.

Don’t get me wrong – I love these songs. I think they’re awesome.

It’s just that the lyrics are sooooo hard to swallow sometimes. How often do I hear these words come across my lips and yet they never seem to cross my mind? How often do I express them in a passionate song and yet never express them from the depths of my heart?

Because when I really think about it, what in the world are we saying? I do not want to merely verbalize words on a powerpoint or from the monotonous litany of my memory. I want to live the things I say. I long to be a woman of my word. But how can I do that if I cannot even fathom the depth of my words?

If Christ is enough for me, then that means I can be “okay” without my laptop, my camera, my guitar, my clothes, my car or any of my possessions.

If Christ is enough for me, then that means I can be “okay” without comfort, safety, security, meaning, power, worth – anything that cannot be derived first and foremost from Christ Himself.

If Christ is enough for me, then that means I can be “okay” without my vision, my ability to hear or talk/run/feel.

If Christ is enough for me, then that means I can be “okay” without those I hold most dear: my family, my closest friends, my co-workers.

If Christ is enough for me, then that means my soul is satisfied with His. When all else is stripped away, including my earthly body, my soul will be 100% satisfied to delight, revel, rejoice and rest in the full presence of Jesus Christ.

And when you think of it that way, it’s pretty stinkin’ sweet; that one day we have the promise of being reunited with Him and all things will be made new.

But here? On earth? Without all that stuff?

Is it possible for us to experience life with Jesus here as we will one day in Heaven?

It may be impossible with all of the distractions, all of the things we absolutely have to do, not to mention the completely broken nature of this world.

But I do desire it.

Do you?

Is Christ enough for you and me, here and now?

This entry was published on September 8, 2013 at 11:11 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

