Living in light of His Faithfulness

As a part of my theology class out here in Colorado, I had the chance to do an attributes of God project. I chose to study God’s faithfulness, mostly because I have felt like He has forgotten me recently, or that He will not do what He has said He will do.

Part of this assignment involved combing through specific Bible verses that addressed this particular attribute, identifying principles that describe the attribute and eventually coming to a conclusive definition. The very last part of the project was application and hinged on these two questions:

1. If God did not possess this specific attribute, how would your life be affected?

2. Describe specific personal applications that a deeper appreciation of this attribute can positively affect my life and ministry.

I would like to share those now, as a reminder to myself and to anyone else who may be wrestling with God in this area.

If God did not possess this particular attribute of faithfulness then I would not be a Christian. If He cannot be trusted for who He is, then I would not believe that He is the one true God. If God’s words were not dependable and trustworthy then I could not trust His word and read the Bible as spiritual truth; I could not believe the accounts of Jesus, nor would I be able to believe that Jesus is the messiah, and therefore would not have received forgiveness through His sacrifice. If God were not faithful, then, when I am having a hard time believing that He is who He says He is, I would not only be filled with doubt but believe my doubt and walk away from Him altogether. If I could not trust that He was faithful, even in the midst of my tough circumstances and the suffering of this life, then He would not be a God that I would want or need to follow and honor as my Lord and Savior. If God was not faithful then I would not view Him as God.

I will trust that God will come through in His perfect timing and that He will provide during support raising when it doesn’t seem to be going anywhere. I will trust that, when He says He will never leave me nor forsake me, He truly means that even when I cannot seem to feel His presence (because He does not depend on my circumstances or belief). I will trust Him to empower me with His spirit and provide me with faith when I cannot seem to believe myself. I will receive and believe His grace more open-handedly when I sin or fail because His word is truth and He says that is sufficient for me.

This entry was published on June 19, 2013 at 5:35 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

