Apathy: When the Music falls upon deaf ears

I recently have heard a powerful analogy that originated from this article. To sum it up, the author makes an analogy that the Gospel is like music and, upon hearing, the listeners respond by dancing to the beat, or living out their lives in response to the Gospel.

I think it is a pretty neat analogy, especially considering how influential music is in every culture around the world.

However, I think that sometimes I can also grow used to the music I listen to; that which once moved me or caught my attention, eliciting a specific response, now just plays as background music. I have grown used to the rise and fall throughout the piece, the melody has become monotonous and I no longer respond to it.

It’s almost like I cannot even hear it anymore.

I think, as a Christian, this unfortunately also happens with the Gospel. I have grown used to the story, no longer moved by the magnitude of God’s grace and love, and my response has become dull and lifeless.

It’s almost like I cannot even hear it anymore. 

So what do I do, then? How do I  begin to hear the sweet music of God’s amazing story once again? How do I respond as if it is the first time I am hearing it? I  heard this following story by one of my teachers for new staff training with Cru, and I think it relates perfectly to the apathy I have been experiencing. 

Cru was hosting a retreat of some kind, which included multiple colleges from the surrounding area. One of these colleges happened to be an all-deaf school.

For the final part of this event, the team planned to have a dance party. Not thinking about all of the attending students, the staff became conscious that the deaf students would not be able to participate and they felt bad for their lack of foresight.

So the area was cleared, chairs were stacked and the d.j. began to play the music. The staff watched in amazement as the deaf students were the first out on the dance floor.

But they didn’t begin to dance.

Instead, they ran over to the speakers and hugged them tightly, feeling the vibrations of the song being played. Once they found the beat of the music, they ran back out to the dance floor and danced their hearts out. Then every time a new song started they would run back to the speakers, hugging them once again to find the rhythm so they could respond appropriately.

Upon hearing this story I realized that I have been deaf to the music of the Gospel. But instead of running back to the Bible and being intimately in tune with the pulse of God’s story, I have simply abandoned it all together, becoming more lifeless as a result.

But I long to desperately come back to God’s word again and again, holding it close when I cannot seem to hear the music.

This final quote, which addresses Hebrews 4:14-16, is one of those sweet reminders of why running back to the Gospel is so crucial in my life and to anyone else who is experiencing spiritual apathy.

The writer of Hebrews points our hearts to one who truly does understand, calling us to reflect upon Jesus’ final hours: He was betrayed by a friend, abandoned by his disciples, endured unimaginable physical and emotional abuse, and experienced an excruciating death. He understands abandonment, loneliness, rejection, shame and deep sadness because he experienced these things himself. He can identify with the entire gamut of our painful experiences.

–  Keith E. Johnson, Hearing the Music of The Gospel

Can you hear it? A beautiful song of redemption, love and grace from a God who deeply desires to know me and you. A relate-able song  that we can connect with because The Writer gets us. 

And that is the best kind of music to listen to over and over again.

This entry was published on June 16, 2013 at 1:31 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

