Oh, patience

Everyone always says, “Patience is a virtue.”

The Bible says it is a fruit of the Holy Spirit (Galatians 5:22-23)

And my mom always says, “Whatever you do, don’t ever pray for patience. Because God will send you trials.”

This week, of all weeks – while I have four finals plus packing up for Chicago – I decided to ask my team to pray for “a deeper understanding of patience.” Why did I do this? *sigh, roll of the eyes* I have no clue.

Needless-to-say, God has definitely answered that prayer this week.

Do I have a deeper understanding of patience? Oh yeah, something along the lines of “I have zero.” Whether it’s been additional assignments added to an already-stressful week, the printers in my building not working that have always worked or having a bum leg and being unable to run, I have sufficiently been tested, trialed and frustrated beyond all get out. I’m continually waiting for something in this life, but I seldom stop to think of how much God waits for us.

So through it all, I definitely do have a “deeper understanding of patience”, but it has been more focused on God’s incredible patience for me rather than how patient I can become myself.

I am blown away that He waits day-in and day-out for me to come to Him with my problems, with my frustrations, with my hurts and my sin. I am in awe that He waits for me, longing for me to find satisfaction in Him alone as I foolishly go from one lover to the next, ignoring Him all along the way. I am breathless that He waits for me to catch a glimpse of His magnificence, to acknowledge His presence and be overwhelmed by His grace.

He is patient, He is kind … He is not self-seeking, He is not easily angered, He keeps no record of wrongs. (1 Cor 13)

This entry was published on June 6, 2012 at 9:16 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

