Chicago: Between the lines

The following quotes and passages were incredibly influential during my decision-making and processing. I’ll allow them to speak for themselves…

“He has right to interrupt your life. He is Lord. When you accepted Him as Lord, you gave Him, the right to help Himself to your life anytime He wants.” – Henry Blackaby

Matthew 7:7-11 “Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives; he who seeks finds; and to him who knocks, the door will be opened.  “Which of you, if his son asks for bread, will give him a stone? Or if he asks for a fish, will give him a snake? If you, then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give good gifts to those who ask him!”

Matthew 16:24-25 “Then Jesus said to his disciples, “If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross and follow me. For whoever wants to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for me will find it.”

“God’s universal purpose for all Christian suffering: more contentment in God and less satisfaction in self and the world. If we hold fast to Him when all around our soul gives way, then we show that He is more to be desired than all we’ve lost. So suffering is designed by God not only as a way to wean Christians off of self and onto grace, but also as a way to spotlight that grace and make it shine.” –John Piper, Desiring God

Phil 4:6-7 “Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God that transcends all understanding will guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus.”

Psalm 31:1-5 “In you, O LORD, I have taken refuge;
   let me never be put to shame;
   deliver me in your righteousness.
Turn your ear to me,
   come quickly to my rescue;
be my rock of refuge,
   a strong fortress to save me.
Since you are my rock and my fortress,
   for the sake of your name lead and guide me.
Free me from the trap that is set for me,
   for you are my refuge.
Into your hands I commit my spirit;
   redeem me, O LORD, the God of truth”

“A habit of listening to the sweet inner voice of His presence results in a radical determination to obey that voice. “ – A.W. Tozer

Proverbs 8:14, 34-35 “Counsel and sound judgment are mine; I have understanding and power… Blessed is the man who listens to me, watching daily at my doors, waiting at my doorway. For whoever finds me finds life  and receives favor from the LORD”

Psalm 40:1-8 “I waited patiently for the LORD;
   he turned to me and heard my cry.
 He lifted me out of the slimy pit,
   out of the mud and mire;
he set my feet on a rock
   and gave me a firm place to stand.
 He put a new song in my mouth,
   a hymn of praise to our God.
Many will see and fear
   and put their trust in the LORD.

Blessed is the man
   who makes the LORD his trust,
who does not look to the proud,
   to those who turn aside to false gods.
Many, O LORD my God,
   are the wonders you have done.
The things you planned for us
   no one can recount to you;
were I to speak and tell of them,
   they would be too many to declare.

 Sacrifice and offering you did not desire,
   but my ears you have pierced;
burnt offerings and sin offerings
   you did not require.
 Then I said, “Here I am, I have come—
   it is written about me in the scroll.
 I desire to do your will, O my God;
   your law is within my heart.”

“The essence of surrender is getting out of God’s way so that He can do in us what He wants to do through us” – A.W. Tozer

Heb 12:1-3 “Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us.  Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.  Consider him who endured such opposition from sinful men, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.”

Psalm 46:1-3, 8-10 “God is our refuge and strength,
   an ever-present help in trouble.
Therefore we will not fear, though the earth give way
   and the mountains fall into the heart of the sea,
though its waters roar and foam
   and the mountains quake with their surging …

Come and see the works of the LORD,
   the desolations he has brought on the earth.
He makes wars cease to the ends of the earth;
   he breaks the bow and shatters the spear,
   he burns the shields with fire.
 “Be still, and know that I am God;
   I will be exalted among the nations,
   I will be exalted in the earth.”

 The LORD Almighty is with us;
   the God of Jacob is our fortress.
                         Selah

 1 Cor 2:1-5 When I came to you, brothers, I did not come with eloquence or superior wisdom as I proclaimed to you the testimony about God. For I resolved to know nothing while I was with you except Jesus Christ and him crucified. I came to you in weakness and fear, and with much trembling. My message and my preaching were not with wise and persuasive words, but with a demonstration of the Spirit’s power, so that your faith might not rest on men’s wisdom, but on God’s power

Hosea 6:3 Let us acknowledge the LORD;
   let us press on to acknowledge him.
As surely as the sun rises,
   he will appear;
he will come to us like the winter rains,
   like the spring rains that water the earth

Esther 4:13-14 Do not think that because you are in the king’s house you alone of all the Jews will escape. For if you remain silent at this time, relief and deliverance for the Jews will arise from another place, but you and your father’s family will perish. And who knows but that you have come to royal position for such a time as this?

Psalm 57:7-11 My heart is steadfast, O God,
   my heart is steadfast;
   I will sing and make music.
Awake, my soul!
   Awake, harp and lyre!
   I will awaken the dawn.

 I will praise you, O Lord, among the nations;
   I will sing of you among the peoples.
 For great is your love, reaching to the heavens;
   your faithfulness reaches to the skies.

 Be exalted, O God, above the heavens;
   let your glory be over all the earth

Mark 10:29-31, 43-45 “I tell you the truth,” Jesus replied, “no one who has left home or brothers or sisters or mother or father or children or fields for me and the gospel will fail to receive a hundred times as much in this present age (homes, brothers, sisters, mothers, children and fields—and with them, persecutions) and in the age to come, eternal life. But many who are first will be last, and the last first … Instead, whoever wants to become great among you must be your servant,  and whoever wants to be first must be slave of all. For even the Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve, and to give his life as a ransom for many”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Et00UNFDjVM

1 Kings 19:11-12 The LORD said, “Go out and stand on the mountain in the presence of the LORD, for the LORD is about to pass by.”    Then a great and powerful wind tore the mountains apart and shattered the rocks before the LORD, but the LORD was not in the wind. After the wind there was an earthquake, but the LORD was not in the earthquake.  After the earthquake came a fire, but the LORD was not in the fire. And after the fire came a gentle whisper.

Psalm 32:8-10 “I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will counsel you and watch over you.
Do not be like the horse or the mule,
   which have no understanding
but must be controlled by bit and bridle
   or they will not come to you.
 Many are the woes of the wicked,
   but the LORD’s unfailing love
   surrounds the man who trusts in him

This entry was published on April 23, 2012 at 2:55 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Chicago: Between the lines

  1. Pingback: RECOGNIZING YOUR REAL SELF AS BLESSED (LESSON 6) « Vine and Branch World Ministries

  2. Pingback: Wait for the LORD | Kevin Nunez

Leave a Reply

